New Board Elected

The 30th anniversary of the Chamber was well attended and included inaugural annual awards, and we heard from a highly informative guest speaker, Dr Michael Schaper, the deputy chair of the ACCC.

Foundation members Robert Savell and Renzo Valleri were honoured not just for launching the organisation but also for staying connected with it all this time and we presented them with commemorative plaques.

New annual awards were handed out to members who had provided strategic support over the past year. The winners were current treasurer Jim Vass, former Vice President Michael Mourad, Nicole Tavares, John Howard, Andre Meyer, Ciaran Keating, Neelam Aggarwala and Max Pagnin.

President Craig Hingston said it has been a year of hard work in growing the Chamber’s presence in the area and launching Cumberland Womens Network, the very popular Ten Talks, running the Sustainability In Business workshop series with Macquarie University, and starting the informal gathering – Business over Beer.

Craig interviewed Robert Savell about the formative years of the Chamber and in true style Robert provided a number of humorous anecdotes, then Craig interviewed Dr Schaper who enthralled the audience.

The new board of Craig Hingston, Peter Simonis, Andre Meyer, Neelam Aggarwala, Binh Rey and Scott Baker was elected. Congratulations to the new executive members.